#SheisaVEWoman: A campaign with VedaEarth

unnamed-1

I am not one of those girls who think they are any lesser because of their gender. I believe in self love more than anything. But sometimes, you get so caught up in your own schedule, you forget what you stand for and a little reminder never hurt no one. When I was approached to be a part of VedaEarth’s campaign to inspire and empower woman, I was thrilled. What can be better than telling your fellow women  ‘’Girl, you got this?’’

Who is an Empowered Woman?

According to me, it’s someone who doesn’t need anybody’s validation. She knows who she is and what she wants. Most importantly, she believes in herself.

I am definitely one, too:

I come from a community that doesn’t really appreciate it’s woman folk working. From childhood, girls are taught that marriage is everything, it does not matter if you have a job or not, it does not matter how many degrees you have. But if you are going to study, be an engineer. That’s enough.

Sorry, but I disagree.

I did not want be an engineer because it’s ‘’trending’’ or it pays more. I did not want to choose a guy over a career. I, in no way, think that marriage is the ultimate goal of a girl’s life. And so I fought against this patriarchal society.

When they told me to take up engineering, I said NO. I pursued arts.

When they told me that one degree is enough for any girl, I said NO. I am now a double degree graduate with an MS in Media and Communications.

When they told me that I don’t need to work, I said NO. Maybe I don’t need to, but I want to.

When they told me blogging is useless, I said NO. And today, I am representing a brand like Veda Earth.

I am glad I said ”NO”, I am glad I followed my heart. Today, nothing gives me more happiness and pride than my work. I love what I do and I love the person I am.

There are still many people who look down on me in disdain because I am different from all of them. But I don’t care. My parents are extremely appreciative of everything I do. They are my loudest cheerleaders. I have a very supportive family and friends who know me in and out. Most importantly, I have my confidence. So why care about the rest?

I am also the biggest advocate of #SelfLove. I believe that your skin color or body type should not and does not define you or what you think of yourself. Everyone is beautiful in their own way.

This empowering poem that I found on Pinterest sums it up:

Mirror, Mirror on the wall,

It does not matter if I am short or tall,

If I have skinny legs or if my hips are wide,

What matters is who I am inside.

Who cares if my eyes are blue, black or green,

Because what makes me most beautiful cannot be seen.

When you look at me, don’t judge me by my parts,

The best thing about me is my heart.

Today, I want to tell all the girls out there: Don’t let them stop you. Be who you are and do what you want. No dream is too big. Work for it and one day you’ll have it!

No matter who loves you or doesn’t, know that you are amazing, just the way you are.

_______

About VedaEarth:

VedaEarth is a Bangalore based company that has introduced premium skincare products for the modern woman. The brand which combines aromatherapy and vegan ayurveda is targeted at the intelligent, empowered woman of today who juggles various roles and struggles to fit in an elaborate skin-care routine. It is for those women who are too busy wearing multiple hats and don’t have hours to look after themselves.

VedaEarth was founded and is led by Divya Dinesh. As a young female entrepreneur herself, she wants to build a brand which celebrates the self-confident, empowered woman of today. With this objective, the brand has launched the #SheisaVEWoman campaign which is a celebratory series on inspiring, modern women from various walks of life.

If you too are also one of them, take a look at their Facebook and Twitter to read more inspirational stories about women achievers.

Do you have a story about yourself? Do you want to voice out your opinions?

Shout it out loud and clear!

 

sheisavewoman

Leave a Reply

